Chocolate lovers banana bread

I’m lucky enough to have most Sundays off to enjoy, rest up and relax for the upcoming week. When you have the entire day off and you don’t sleep until noon it’s shocking what you can get accomplished. Usually by mid-afternoon I’m looking for an activity to kill some time and baking is a great way to fill the voids in both my schedule and pantry.

My diet consists of a lot of fresh produce. A LOT. I’m talking 3-4 trips to the market a week. My diet also consists of a lot of bananas. I eat far more banana’s than I know I should, and I very, very rarely have leftover to bake with. That being said, just like most people I get sick and tired of eating the same darn things for breakfast lunch and dinner. This week, I was left over with FOUR browning bananas. I was pretty excited about this because I find sometimes my loaves don’t turn out as “banana-y” as I’d like. Having the proper amount of ingredients in obviously crucial to how any recipe turns out.

Today, my inner fat kid also came out to play and I added a healthy (huge) handful (or three) of chocolate chips. Did I also garnish with chocolate chips? Heck yeah.

20130326-185235.jpg

Recipe:
3-4 over ripened bananas
1/4c melted butter
1c sugar
1 1/2c flour
1/4tsp salt
1 egg, beaten
1tsp baking soda
1tsp vanilla extract
chocolate chips

preheat oven to 350F/175C
mash bananas, add melted butter and sugar. mix in beaten egg and vanilla extract. In a separate bowl mix flour, baking soda and salt. Add dry contents to bananas and thoroughly mix.

bake in greased loaf pan for 55-60 min. top should be golden brown and when you insert a toothpick, it should come out clean!

I made 2 small loaves measuring 7x2x2.5″ and the recipe yielded 12 servings. I cooked them together side by side for 60 minutes and cooled with the oven door open. Why did I cool them in the oven do you ask? Partially because my apartment was freezing, but also because I store my pots and pants in the oven when it is not in use.

The loaves turned out fantastic, and I guesstimated (by using an online calculator) that each serving is about 210 calories. Considering the amount of chocolate I put in them this time, I’m not mad about it. I split one loaf with my roommates for afternoon tea and have the second one packed up to share with my coworkers tomorrow.

Happy Sunday, and happy snacking!

One thought on “Chocolate lovers banana bread

Leave a Reply

